With Eyes Open Frontman Evan Jones Q&A

With the release of their debut EP on the horizon, With Eyes Open aim to take the North East music scene by storm, I had a talk with frontman Evan Jones to get an insight into what is going on with the band and what they have planned in the not too distant future.

 

Hey Evan, what’s going on in the world of with eyes open right now?

Well, we are mainly getting ready to play live, it’s been so long since any of us have played live, we were all previously in other bands, so all of our focus right now is getting the set down and being ready to play live.

How are you feeling about the imminent EP release and when can we expect to hear it?

I can’t exactly say when the E.P is going to be released as there is no solid release date, but It will be sometime in the next month, we hope. The E.P  I am very proud of, speaking personally it’s the best music I’ve worked on, I’ve previously been a part of other bands and projects I’ve never really been 100% happy with the the direction of them, this E.P and this band is the best thing I’ve been a part of, I’m excited for everyone to hear it.

So, what brought the 5 of you together?

The band I formed  about two years ago called You’re Next, began to slowly fall apart after releasing one EP and the last line up of that band was what would become With Eyes Open. We decided on a name change because the music we were writing was so different than the previous E.P and I was the only original member, it wasn’t You’re Next anymore. 

You’re part of a four band bill on the April 28th of April at Liberty’s in Middlesbrough, how are you feeling about that night and also are you familiar the other 3 bands?

I’m excited to play again, full stop, I just want to hit the stage with my brothers. I haven’t been on stage since I was in a previous band (Shotgun Syndrome) and that last gig  was The Broken Heart Festival in March of 2013. It’s been far too long. I’m a huge fan of all the bands we are playing with, I’ve worked with A Dying Reign before by booking them on gigs previously, one hell of a  band, with a brutal sound. Glass Harbour are phenomenal, one of my personal favourite local bands, I’ve known their vocalist Rob for several years now, he’s a great guy and finally I know Trendkill because I go to university with Elliot, their vocalist, one of the tightest bands I’ve ever seen live, we are also on the same label as them. 

What else do Eyes Wide Open have lined up for the rest of year?

I know we plan on getting more gigs, maybe a tour, get some merch sorted, we are eager to begin writing more material, so maybe towards the end of the year or the beginning of next year, depending on how things go we may have another release coming real soon.

https://witheyesopen.bandcamp.com/releases

https://www.facebook.com/pg/witheyesopen1/about/?ref=page_internal

Leave a Reply

